Scientific Advisory Board

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board is an external advisory body that reviews the scientific work of the institute and its departments. It consists of internationally recognized scientists from leading research institutions and universities worldwide who are appointed by the President of the Max Planck Society.

The MPI is evaluated every three years. The scientific status report of the Institute on current and planned research projects serves as a written basis. The Board meets with the Institute's leadership, the various research and service groups, junior scientists, and non-scientific staff. The Board then makes recommendations regarding development and optimization potential.

The Scientific Advisory Board of the Max Planck Institute for Terrestrial Microbiology currently has the following members:

John Innes Centre, Norwich Research Park, Norwich (U.K.)
KAIST, Department of Biological Sciences and Institute of the BioCentury, Daejeon (Republik Korea)
Universität Potsdam, AG Mikrobiologie, Potsdam (Germany)
Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência, Evolutionary Biology, Oeiras (Portugal)
Monash Biomedicine Discovery Institute,  Department of Microbiology, Clayton, Victoria (Australia)
Department of Microbiology, University of Washington, Seattle (USA)
Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Northwestern University (USA)
Center for Structural Biology, Center for Cancer Research, National Cancer Institute (USA)
Universität zu Köln, Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät, Cologne (Germany)
LS Biologie der Mikroorganismen, Ruhr-Universität Bochum (Germany)
Institute of Microbiology, ETH Zürich (Switzerland)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Department of Chemical Engineering, Cambridge (USA)
Biologiezentrum, Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel (Germany)
UC Santa Cruz, Microbiology & Environmental Toxicology Department, Institute of Marine Sciences, Santa Cruz, CA (USA)


    Go to Editor View